Keplerstraße 17 / 2

Institute of Economics and Law

The Institute of Economics and Law belongs to the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences and consists of the Department of Theoretical Economics, the Department of Microeconomics and Spatial Economics, and the Department of Law.

Department of Theoretical Economics

Prof. Dr. Frank C. Englmann

The department’s focal points of research are innovation, national debt, financial markets and their macroeconomics modeling as well as traffic and infrastructural economics. These areas are completed by questions of economic policy, especially in regards to social and environmental policy.

Department of Theoretical Economics

Professorship of Macroeconomics and Digital Transformation

T.T. Prof. Dr. Richard Bluhm

The team of the professorship of macroeconomics and digital transformation works in the following areas:  economic growth, development economics, political economy, and applied econometrics/ data science. Our research focuses primarily on the spatial distribution of economic activity, the political economy (of growth, environmental policy, and public goods), and the measurement of income and inequality. We study policy-relevant research questions using modern empirical methods, big data (e.g., satellite images), and—where suitable—formal theory. The ongoing digital transformation has a lasting influence on our research, as it keeps posing new research questions and drives the development of research methods in economics toward big data and machine learning. 

Our teaching in both undergraduate and more advanced courses is research-based. Among others, we offer the core macroeconomics course (starting in summer 2024), classes in economic growth and economic aspects of infrastructure planning, and seminars on current topics in economics.

Professorship of Macroeconomics and Digital Transformation

Department of Microeconomics and Spatial Economics

Prof. Dr. Bernd Woeckener

The Department of Microeconomics and Spatial Economics currently focuses on two main areas of research: The first field of research is Network economics. Here we are concerned with the regulation of digital network industries and the (in)compatibility of networks. The second focus lies on the economics of the housing market. In this area we deal with the regulation of the housing market for renters, especially with a reform of the ‘qualified rent table’ as a central instrument for regulation.  

Department of Microeconomics and Spatial Economics

Department of Law

Prof. Dr. Daniela Winkler

The main research focus of the chair lies in environmental and energy law as well as in planning law (area and sectoral planning). Questions of a sustainable and fair resource use are of special importance. Another key area is the application of this context to participation law, in which problems of integrating the above question in a democracy are researched.

The chair is responsible for the Master’s program ‘Planning and Participation’. The cooperation of six institutes from three faculties of the University of Stuttgart facilitates an interdisciplinary network of professional expertise from the areas of planning, social, and environmental sciences as well as engineering and law. 

Department of Law

Secretariat

 

Department of Theoretical Economics & Macroeconomics and Digital Transformation

Keplerstraße 17, 70174 Stuttgart,
9. OG
Room: 9.035

 

Department of Microeconomics and Spatial Economics

Keplerstraße 17, 70174 Stuttgart,
10. OG
Room: 10.034

 

Department of Law

Keplerstraße 17, 70174 Stuttgart,
9. OG
Room: 9.022 - 9.025

To the top of the page

Testbild 1

Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre und Recht (IVR)

Das Institut für Volkswirtschaftslehre und Recht der Fakultät 10: Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaft besteht aus dem Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Volkswirtschaftslehre und den Abteilungen für Mikroökonomik und Räumliche Ökonomik und für Rechtswissenschaft.

Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Volkswirtschaftslehre

Prof. Dr. Frank C. Englmann

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Lehrstuhls liegen auf Innovation, Staatsverschuldung, Finanzmärkte und deren makroökonomischer Modellierung sowie in der Verkehrs- und Infrastrukturökonomik. Diese Bereiche werden ergänzt durch wirtschaftspolitische Fragestellungen insbesondere im Bereich der Sozial- und Umweltpolitik.

Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Volkswirtschaftslehre

Abteilung für Makroökonomik und digitaler Wandel

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Richard Bluhm

Die Mitglieder der Abteilung für Makroökonomik und digitaler Wandel arbeiten unter anderem an folgenden Bereichen: Wirtschaftswachstum, Entwicklungsökonomie, politische Ökonomie, und angewandte Ökonometrie bzw. Data Science. Unsere Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der räumlichen Verteilung ökonomischer Aktivität, politische Ökonomie (von Wachstum, Umwelt und Öffentlichen Gütern), sowie der Messung von Einkommen und Ungleichheit. Wir untersuchen wirtschafts- und entwicklungspolitisch relevante Fragestellungen mit modernen quantitativen Methoden, neuen großen Daten (wie z. B. Satellitenaufnahmen) und formaler Theorie. Der digitale Wandel spielt hierbei eine große Rolle, da dieser fortwährend neue Forschungsfragen aufwirft und die Entwicklung neuer Methoden in der Volkswirtschaftslehre hin zu großen Daten und maschinellem Lernen vorantreibt. 

Abteilung für Makroökonomik und digitaler Wandel

Abteilung für Mikroökonomik und Räumliche Ökonomik

Prof. Dr. Bernd Woeckener

Die Abteilung für Mikroökonomik und Räumliche Ökonomik hat zurzeit zwei Forschungsschwerpunkte: Der erste Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Netzwerkökonomik. Hier befassen wir uns mit der Regulierung digitaler Netzindustrien, insbesondere mit der strategischer (In-)Kompatibilität von Netzen. Der zweite Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Wohnungsmarktökonomik. Hier befassen wir uns mit der Regulierung des Mietwohnungsmarktes, insbesondere mit der Reform des qualifizierten Mietspiegels als zentralem Regulierungsinstrument.

Abteilung für Mikroökonomik und Räumliche Ökonomik

Abteilung für Rechtswissenschaft

Prof. Dr. Daniela Winkler

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt des Lehrstuhls liegt im Bereich des Umwelt- und Energierechts sowie des Planungsrecht (Raum- und Fachplanung). Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt hier auf Fragen der nachhaltigen und gerechten Ressourcenverwendung. In diesem Zusammenhang leitet sich ein weiterer Schwerpunkt aus dem Partizipationsrecht ab, der Fragestellungen zur demokratischen Einbindung der oben genannten Gestaltungsaufgaben umfasst.

Der Lehrstuhl betreut federführend den Masterstudiengang „Planung und Partizipation“, welcher in Kooperation von sechs Instituten aus drei Fakultäten der Universität Stuttgart die Vernetzung unterschiedlicher Fachkenntnisse aus den Planungs-, Sozial-, Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften sowie der Rechtswissenschaft ermöglicht.

Abteilung für Rechtswissenschaft

Sekretariate

 

Lehrstuhl für Theoretische Volkswirtschaftslehre & Abteilung für Makroökonomik und Digitale Transformation

Keplerstraße 17, 70174 Stuttgart, 9. OG

 

Abteilung für Mikroökonomik und Räumliche Ökonomik

Keplerstraße 17, 70174 Stuttgart, 10. OG

 

Abteilung für Rechtswissenschaft

Keplerstraße 17, 70174 Stuttgart, 9. OG

Zum Seitenanfang